DDEA Board of Directors | Danish Diabetes and Endocrine Academy
  • Search form

DDEA Board of Directors

Danish Diabetes and Endocrine Academy (DDEA) is headed by a Board of Directors (BoD) of seven members with a well-balanced and broad representation of stakeholders with regard to gender, age, national geography, and sector. 

Members' profile and competences
The BoD includes representation from early-career researchers, senior researchers, and clinicians, as well as universities, hospitals, and life science industry, across diabetes and other endocrinology fields.

The members have competence and experience as board members/chairpersons, researchers, or clinicians in diabetes and other endocrinology fields, education and talent development, innovation and entrepreneurship, fundraising, public-private partnerships, impact assessment, and Novo Nordisk Foundation-funded initiatives and strategies.

BoD responsibilities

  • Defining and deciding the overall strategy and the strategy for DDEA’s four key activity classes and oversee its implementation, including approving the annual accounts and budget, the annual programme for the DDEA activities, and making the final decision on grant allocations.
  • Performing an annual evaluation of DDEA and its organisation, including impact assessment of the success criteria, key performance indicators and other evaluation factors to decide whether the strategy for future activities needs adjusting.

Further information can be found in the Terms of References of the DDEA Board of Directors.


Allan Flyvbjerg




Chairman of the Board of Directors (BoD) of DDA (per January 1th, 2023 of DDEA) and BoD Member of the European Association for the Study of Diabetes (EASD) and the Bagger-Sørensen Foundation

Kurt Højlund


Chief Physician and Head of Research, Steno Diabetes Center Odense, Odense University Hospital, and Clinical Professor in Endocrinology, University of Southern Denmark

Lise Wogensen Bach


Vice-Dean of Education, Faculty of Health, Aarhus University


Jakob Dal


Associate Professor, Aalborg University, and Senior Registrar, Aalborg University Hospital


Julie Abildgaard


Resident, Bispebjerg Hospital, and Postdoc, Rigshospitalet


Anders Hoff


Political Chief Research and Innovation, the Danish Association of the Pharmaceutical Industry


Paul Franks

MPhil, PhD

Scientific Director, the Novo Nordisk Foundation

Tore Christiansen

MSc, PhD

Managing Director, Danish Diabetes and Endocrine Academy